Wrapped teardrop pendant

December 16, 2010 at 00:04 1 comment

wrapped teardrop pendant

It’s been quiet over here, so I figured instead of trying to come up with tutorials and utterly failing, I’d just showcase some of the stuff I’ve been up to. I’ll try to give some pointers along the way as to how I did it. This is a pendant I made for a very dear friend of mine. She got it as a birthday present. I originally planned to make matching earrings as a christmas present, but sadly, she has since lost the necklace while on a holiday trip. At least I still have some pictures I can show you.
wrapped teardrop necklace

It was the first time I made a leather chain to go with it. The black leather makes a nice contrast to the bright silver and is comfortable to wear. I’m rather pleased at how it all turned out. I started with a teardrop shape (shaped over a glue stick, if I remember correctly), then added in the triangle with the bead, and wrapped it all with thin wire. The wrapping helps cover some spots, but you really have to pay attention to the top of the pendant. It’s not as forgiving as it looks. Start the wrapping at the top, making sure the end is secured and then go as far down as you want to. I kept the wire on the spool as I wrapped and only cut it once I got to the desired length. To finish, simply tuck the end in under the wrapping.

Some day, I will learn to take better photographs. Or get a better camera. That’ll help, right?

Entry filed under: Jewelry. Tags: , .

Dress up, me hearties, yo ho

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Kip  |  December 31, 2010 at 01:22

    That necklace is beautiful! Such a shame it was lost, but at least you still have pictures. :)

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


about me

twenty-something
computer-science major
german

I'd love to hear from you!
bytesizedpieces (at) gmail.com

Recent Posts

Enter your email address to follow me and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7 other subscribers

time machine

December 2010
M T W T F S S
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Grab my button

bytesizedpieces button

oneprettything Someday Crafts Craft Share 2010

Link Parties