Summer in the City smoothie

July 13, 2010 at 15:11 3 comments

Today I went by the market and got some fresh fruit on my way home. We’ve had a really hot week here in Germany, with temperatures of 38° C (that’s 100° F). Today it started out a little cooler but with the sun out it soon heated up and I was craving a nice, light lunch. Something cool and refreshing and fruity. Cue the Summer in the City smoothie!

Summer in the City smoothie

Summer in the City smoothie
(serves two)

  • 2 ripe bananas
  • 2 ripe peaches or nectarines
  • 1 cup frozen wild berries (if you have fresh berries add a few ice cubes)
  • 1 cup grape or orange juice

Peel the banana, break into pieces and throw it into your blender. Peel the peaches (the skin should come off easily if they’re ripe), cut up and throw in there as well. Add berries (and ice cubes, if you used fresh ones) and fill up with grape juice. Blend on high until everything is smooth. If it’s still too thick, add a little more juice. Enjoy!

It’s so delicious, I drank a whole big glass before I could restrain myself enough to snap a picture! Good thing I made enough for two servings. ;) I still have enough to make a second batch, but I’ll definitely pick up some more fruit to make this. The forecast says it’ll stay this hot for the rest of the week, so I’ll have lots of opportunities to enjoy my Summer in the City smoothie.

Entry filed under: Fun in the kitchen. Tags: , , , .

Tasty treats with a kick Dress up, me hearties, yo ho

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. aimee  |  August 26, 2010 at 23:44

    yum! i have good intentions of making these in the summer but always wind up buying them in the end!

    Reply
  • 2. Barbara D. Ramsey  |  November 26, 2010 at 16:23

    Hello!

    This looks wonderful! I will keep this recipe for next summer when I can get fresh fruit!

    Wishing you a lovely weekend!

    Hugs,

    Barbara Diane

    Reply
  • 3. implanturile dentare  |  May 4, 2012 at 14:39

    …Recommended websites…

    […]Nice blog here! Also your website lots up fast![…]…

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


about me

twenty-something
computer-science major
german

I'd love to hear from you!
bytesizedpieces (at) gmail.com

Recent Posts

Enter your email address to follow me and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7 other subscribers

time machine

July 2010
M T W T F S S
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Grab my button

bytesizedpieces button

oneprettything Someday Crafts Craft Share 2010

Link Parties