DIY: wire heart necklace

May 4, 2010 at 23:28 20 comments

wire heart

Mother’s Day is fast approaching. Since there isn’t much time left until Sunday, I really had to get my stuff together. I wanted it to be something crafty, but it also had to be mailable – which ruled out lots of flowers art and elaborate baking creations. I’ve had this book on wire jewelry lying around for a few weeks now and decided to finally try my hand on it.

This is the first time I’ve ever worked with wire. It’s really rewarding and you only need very few supplies to get started, so it’s a great craft to try out. I already had a pair of wire cutter and straight-nosed pliers (though mine are rippled, which makes ugly dents in the wire so I’ll have to get a new pair), and a quick stop at the craft store left me with round-nose pliers and a bunch of different gauge wire. It cost me about five bucks.

wire heart necklaceI used gauge 18 silver-plated wire to make the base of the heart. Clip off a long piece of wire, and make a sharp bend in the middle – this will be the top crease of your heart. Then bend each wire end over a sharpie or other big, round pen. I didn’t even try to make my halves the same to give the heart an asymmetric look. Bend the wires towards each other and twist together to make the bottom of the heart. Clip off any excess wire. I wrapped it with some 22 gauge wire, crisscrossing the heart and securing the points by wrapping the wire around my heart frame whenever I changed directions. Easy as that!

wire heart detail

Attach a jump ring and thread onto a leather cord to make a pretty necklace. I whipped up a quick wire necklace by bending the 18 gauge wire into a big round shape and twisting together a quick hook and eye at the ends. This took me roughly an hour to put together. It’s my very first hand-made jewelry item and I think it’ll be a great gift for my Mom. Now I only have to get it in the mail!

What are you making for Mother’s Day?

P.S.: My mini windowsill garden is still waiting for some action. It’s day 6 and I’m trying to be patient, but I’ve really got a feeling my black thumb struck again. Nothing green to be seen yet. *sigh*

Entry filed under: Gift ideas, Jewelry, Tutorials. Tags: , , , .

Mini windowsill garden – day 1 Sew, Mama, Sew! Giveaway Day

20 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Cheryl  |  May 6, 2010 at 15:02

    This is so delicate & lovely. Thanks for linking it up to Craftastic Monday. And hang in there with the garden, sometimes it just takes a while;)

    Reply
    • 2. isabel  |  May 6, 2010 at 16:05

      Thank you :) I really hope my Mom will like it, I mailed it off today.

      Aaah, patience. I’m not the most patient person. I’m also worried that I maybe watered it too much. Since it’s artificial soil I’m not really sure how wet or dry it’s supposed to feel and watering such a small pot is a bit tricky. (I usually end up flooding it.)
      I’ll give it at least until next week and if nothing has started sprouting by then I’ll probably start a second try.

      Reply
  • 3. Someday Crafts  |  May 9, 2010 at 09:24

    This is gorgeous! I think I could make this! Great instructions. I am going to feature this at somedaycrafts.blogspot.com. Grab my “featured” button.

    Reply
    • 4. isabel  |  May 10, 2010 at 09:46

      I’m glad you like it and thanks so much for featuring me! I grabbed your button :)

      Reply
  • 5. Kaysi @ Keeping It SImple  |  May 10, 2010 at 00:10

    That is so pretty! What a great idea!

    Reply
    • 6. isabel  |  May 10, 2010 at 09:48

      Thank you, I’m glad you like it :)

      Reply
  • 7. kelli hansen  |  May 10, 2010 at 05:01

    I LOVE IT!!!!! I can’t wait to get my supplies together and make one. Thanx for sharing.

    Reply
    • 8. isabel  |  May 10, 2010 at 09:48

      Oh, please do and let me know if you’ve made something. It’s really easy and the possibilities are endless. I’d love to see what you come up with!

      Reply
  • 9. Teresa Hall  |  May 10, 2010 at 19:58

    The necklace is beautiful!! What a great idea. I think I will try to make one for my mother!

    Reply
    • 10. isabel  |  May 11, 2010 at 10:55

      Thank you. :) My Mom loved the necklace and I think yours would, too. Let me know how it goes.

      Reply
  • 11. J.Hill  |  May 11, 2010 at 22:38

    This is really beautiful. Did you have any trouble with any pokey bits sticking out?

    Thanks for linking up to the Mad Skills party!

    Reply
    • 12. isabel  |  May 17, 2010 at 08:44

      I didn’t have any trouble, but you can use a metal file to make sure all the edges are smooth. (It’s on my shopping list.) I clipped the bottom of the heart with the flat side of my wire clippers to make it as smooth as possible. For the thin wire I made sure that the ends were on the side away from your body when the pendant is worn, but since the wire is so soft I didn’t have much trouble making them rather flush with the piece. :)

      Reply
  • 13. J.Hill  |  May 16, 2010 at 16:09

    I am going to be featuring this project on my blog Monday morning! Thanks again for linking up!

    madincrafts.blogspot.com

    Reply
    • 14. isabel  |  May 17, 2010 at 08:45

      Thanks so much for featuring me! :D

      Reply
  • 15. kelli hansen  |  May 17, 2010 at 01:25

    I blogged about you. Hope you don’t mind. Come see me and let me know what you think. I blogged and showed the heart I made but couldn’t find you and then finally tracked you down. Thanx for inspiring me.

    Reply
    • 16. isabel  |  June 2, 2010 at 00:01

      I don’t mind at all! I love seeing what other people come up with. Thanks for sharing your results!

      Reply
  • 17. Cutelicious  |  May 3, 2011 at 20:59

    Oh my, is this beautiful!!!
    Love it!

    Reply
  • 18. Sharon Blackmon  |  March 28, 2012 at 01:57

    A couple of ideas crossed my mind as I read your process…. One, you can incorporate the jump ring in to your design and not have to use a separate ring. Two, this would REALLY pop with a little red bead (or any color you want) worked into some of the wire work, maybe off to the side. Very lovely idea!! I’m just getting into some bead wrapping and wire work, and I can’t wait to do one of these!

    Reply
  • 19. Helena, Craft and Creativity  |  May 29, 2012 at 14:15

    That’s just beautiful. I would love to try to make one. :)

    Reply
  • 20. MAD SKILLS PARTY #5 - Mad in Crafts  |  March 27, 2014 at 15:23

    […] Can you believe it was her first attempt at wire jewelry?  Find her tutorial posted HERE. Time to get started on Mad Skills Party #4.  As usual you can link up a post, old or new, to […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


about me

twenty-something
computer-science major
german

I'd love to hear from you!
bytesizedpieces (at) gmail.com

Recent Posts

Enter your email address to follow me and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7 other followers

time machine

May 2010
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Grab my button

bytesizedpieces button

oneprettything Someday Crafts Craft Share 2010

Link Parties


