Mini windowsill garden – day 1

April 28, 2010 at 08:31 1 comment

GerberaFor Easter my Mom gave me this grow-yourself-a-Gerbera package. They were my favorite flowers when I was a kid. Apparently, Gerberas are the fifth most used cut flower in the world. Huh.

Since I possess a black thumb when it comes to gardening, I don’t really own any flowers or plants. There’s a tree right outside my window that makes it a little bit green. Tending my Mom’s flowers when she was away never really went to well. I just tend to forget them and most flowers don’t take too kindly to that. So getting this package is part of a challenge. Will I finally overcome my black thumb and actually grow something?

Gerbera kitThe kit comes with a small, adorable (albeit plastic) pot that has two holes in the bottom for drainage, a package of artificial soil and three small packets of seeds. So yesterday I went ahead and planted my first four Gerbera seeds. You just pour in most of the soil, add seeds (don’t drop them down the sink like I nearly did) and cover with the rest of the soil, then water until damp. Easy, right? Well, the hard part will be seeing if anything actually comes from it. The label says you should be able to see seeding after 10 days. Are you as curious as I am?

Here it is, sitting on my windowsill where it will hopefully get enough light. I’ll keep you posted how this progresses.
Gerbera Day 1

Entry filed under: Projects. Tags: .

Recipe: Candy Heart Cookies DIY: wire heart necklace

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Ashley @ The Creative Place  |  April 30, 2010 at 20:52

    Yay! I love these flowers :) I can’t wait to see the progress as it grows. I’ve never been that great at growing anything either. I just planted a bunch of vegetable seeds and my radishes just sprouted. I was so proud that I actually had something green in one of the pots ;) Now I guess we’ll see if it actually turns into a radish ;)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


about me

twenty-something
computer-science major
german

I'd love to hear from you!
bytesizedpieces (at) gmail.com

Recent Posts

Enter your email address to follow me and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7 other followers

time machine

April 2010
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Grab my button

bytesizedpieces button

oneprettything Someday Crafts Craft Share 2010

Link Parties


