Blown Fuse Earrings

April 10, 2010 at 18:38 3 comments

Let me show you my favorite pair of earrings.

blown fuse earrings hanging over rim of a cup

For a geek with style, these earrings truly are a must-have.

I have a lamp construction under my bunk bed that is attached to a dimmer switch. dimmer switch Last year it stopped working correctly and my Mom and I burned through four fuses trying to fix it before we gave up on it. (I now have a torch lamp under my bed.)

Now as a crafter especially fond of electronic stuff, I found myself unable to simply throw out the blown fuses. They had to be good for something and it didn’t take long before the idea popped into my head. I asked my good friend P to solder them, since I have neither the equipment nor the experience to do it myself. He happily did the job (thanks P!) and out came two pairs of blown fuse earrings. My very first pair of earrings. If you have a pair of earring hooks on hand (or don’t mind sacrificing a pair you never wear), you could do this whole project for free.

blown fuse earrings

Next time I blow a fuse, I’ll get a matching necklace.

Entry filed under: Jewelry. Tags: , .

Giveaway winner & DIY small felt bucket DIY: Stash Bust: Pacman Paper Lantern

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Chibi  |  April 11, 2010 at 11:06

    These are absolutely adorable, in a geeky kinda way, I love them! :D

    Reply
  • 2. gleefulfood  |  April 12, 2010 at 20:10

    love them!!!

    Reply
  • 3. Karin  |  November 15, 2010 at 22:32

    After you showed them to me today, I looked for stuff like that in the internet and found your blog. :D

    Those earrings are so cool, I wish I could make my own jewelry, too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


about me

twenty-something
computer-science major
german

I'd love to hear from you!
bytesizedpieces (at) gmail.com

Recent Posts

Enter your email address to follow me and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7 other followers

time machine

April 2010
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Grab my button

bytesizedpieces button

oneprettything Someday Crafts Craft Share 2010

Link Parties


