DIY: Bunny Straws & 1st blog giveaway

March 29, 2010 at 18:28 18 comments

As promised yesterday, I’m back with the tutorial for the cute bunny straws. They’re the perfect addition for any easter table. You can use them as straws, glue them onto placecards or simply sprinkle them over the table. And the best thing about them? They’re quick and easy to make.

If you’d like to find out how you can get the chance to win a special easter surprise, I suggest you hop on down.

bunny straws how-to

First off, gather your supplies. You will need:
gather your supplies
easter bunny

  • sheets of colored paper
  • scissors
  • x-acto knife and cutting mat
  • the bunny template (A4 pdf) (US letter pdf)
  • black marker
  • glue stick (optional)
  • straws (optional)

1. Print out the template onto your colored paper. The more colors, the more fun (and the more bunnies)! I’ve provided pdfs with 6 big and 12 small bunnies both for A4 and US letter sizes. If you want them a different size, simply grab the bunny on the right and print in desired size.
2. Grab your scissors and cut out all those bunnies and eggs. For a more finished look, draw around the cut edges with a black marker. Then lay out the bunnies and give each a differently colored egg.
cut out lots of cute bunnies
3. We’re ready for the arms. Get your x-acto knife and grab a bunny. Place the egg above the bunny and mark the four places where you have to cut. (See the red darts.) I usually just poke the bunny with the tip of my x-acto knife.
mark your cutting points
4. Cut along the arms from where you’ve marked your bunny.
cut out arm
5. Now wiggle the egg under the arms and you’re done with the basic steps. This is what your bunny should look like now:
finished bunny
If you don’t want to use the bunny for the straws, you’re done now. Go let your bunnies hop around. You might want to glue down the egg with your glue stick. I found that mine hold their eggs quite well, so I skipped that step.

6. To pass the straw through the bunny, make two horizontal slits about 0.5 inches (1.3 cm) long as shown.
make two slits
7.Now gently slide the straw through the two slits. You might want to press the bottom of the straw flat to make it pass through a little easier.
spear up your bunny
8. To hide the hole in the bunny, wiggle the egg under the arms in front of the straw. And you’re done!
you're done

You can even have fun customizing the bunnies. I made my boy a special debian geek bunny:
debian geek bunny

Now on to the giveaway. I’ll be sending one reader a special easter surprise. Who doesn’t love surprises? To enter, all you have to do is tell me your favourite holiday in the comments to this post. Entries end March 31st, 23:59. The winner will be chosen randomly and announced on Thursday. Make sure you leave your e-mail so I can contact you.

The giveaway is now closed. Thanks everybody for participating!

Entry filed under: Fun with paper, Giveaways, Tutorials. Tags: , , , , .

Bunny Straws Giveaway winner & DIY small felt bucket

18 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kim  |  March 29, 2010 at 20:04

    OMG! So cute :) My daughter’s going to love making these!

    Oh, and favourite holiday? Whichever one gives me longest off work – so I guess that’s Christmas! LOL!

    Reply
  • 2. SAlix  |  March 29, 2010 at 20:25

    Those are so adorable. :) Great job on the tutorial.

    Reply
  • 3. Kip  |  March 29, 2010 at 20:31

    You are so talented! Seriously. I can do crafty things if they don’t involve any form of drawing. *g*

    Will pimp on Facebook and my LJ for you tomorrow when I have a stable net connection.

    Favourite holiday? Fireworks Night. It’s not about gifts or materialism. (to me) It’s about dressing up in a coat, scarf and wellies, trampling down to the park and watching fireworks with family and friends. Then heading home and warming up with tomato soup and tiger bread. I love that day.

    Reply
  • 4. Clare  |  March 30, 2010 at 07:21

    The bunny straws are really rather clever. I think I’ll try the tuturial out, it’s easy and the effect is cute~

    My favorite holiday… has to be Halloween! Candy, dressing up, and partying… awesome!

    Reply
  • 5. Chibi  |  March 30, 2010 at 11:57

    These are absolutely adorable. If I were doing anything with Easter, I’d be making these for at the table.

    My favourite holiday? Does “summer holidays” count as an answer? I guess not, huh? Well, then it’s probably… Christmas, I think.

    Reply
  • 6. Magda  |  March 30, 2010 at 21:07

    hey! I loved the tutorial, so easy and pretty!!!

    Uhmm… favourite holidays?! I guess Christmas!!!

    Love
    Magda
    http://duasestrelinhas.blogspot.com
    edc_magda@hotmail.com

    Reply
  • 7. Renanda  |  March 30, 2010 at 21:07

    These are too cute! They look pretty simple to make too. I am going to have to try these.

    My fav. holiday is Christmas.

    My grandfather recently passed away and his fav was Easter so we are doing it up big this year in memory of him and where he is now.

    Hope you have a good Easter

    Reply
  • 8. Melissa B.  |  March 31, 2010 at 04:29

    My favorite holiday is my daughter’s birthday. (Well, it is a holiday to me!)
    Melissa B.
    mbabecka@gmail.com

    Reply
  • 9. erika  |  April 2, 2010 at 04:00

    these are adorable. thanks so much for sharing. i’ll be linking :)

    Reply
  • 10. Jenn  |  April 7, 2010 at 02:40

    Thanks so much for the freebies. Just wanted to let you know that I featured you on my blog:
    http://delicious-ambiguity-nennyk.blogspot.com/2010/04/free-easter-printables.html
    Feel free to grab my FEATURED button from the top left hand side of my blog. Cheers!

    Reply
  • 11. BEVERLY JENNINGS  |  June 1, 2010 at 02:34

    Every time I come to bytesizedpieces.wordpress.com there is another interesting post to read. A friend of mine was talking to me about this topic a couple weeks ago. I think I’ll e-mail them the link here and see what they say.

    Reply
  • 12. MELISSA  |  March 24, 2011 at 15:10

    my favorite holidy would be christmas i love to see the town decorated and i love the lites that are out and most of all i love the see the children smiles on christmas day its avery festive month

    Reply
  • 13. Link Love: Easter Projects | FaveCraftsBlog  |  April 14, 2011 at 16:30

    […] DIY Bunny Straws from Byte-Sized Pieces […]

    Reply
  • 14. Easter Bunny Straw Printables! | Printables 4 Mom  |  April 5, 2012 at 05:05

    […] are so many uses for these fun bunny printables!  How will you use yours? Head over to Byte-Sized Pieces to grab this Bunny Straw printable! Posted in: Easter, […]

    Reply
  • […] Kolorowe słomki – jak udekorować napoje dla najmłodszych ciekawy-pomysl darmowy szablon dekoracje dla-niego dla-niej dla-poczatkujacych do druku do ściągnięcia gotowy szablon do druku grafika jak udekorować stół jak zrobić kartkę jak złożyć serwetkę jak-stworzyc jak-wykonac jak-zrobic kartki okolicznościowe kartki wielkanocne krok-po-kroku na święta oryginalne podziękowania pomysły quilling stół wielkanocny święta Święta Wielkanocne szablony kartek własnoręcznie zrobiony z gotową grafika za darmo łatwe TwitterDiggFacebookDeliciousStumbleUpon […]

    Reply
  • […] Easter Bunny Straws: These would be perfect for an Easter party or event for the kids! The best part is that they can make them ahead of time with the cool bunny template. […]

    Reply
  • […] Easter Bunny Straws: These would be perfect for an Easter party or event for the kids! The best part is that they can make them ahead of time with the cool bunny template. […]

    Reply
  • 18. Easter Bunny Banner - Refashionably Late  |  February 29, 2016 at 05:20

    […]  I wanted to make my own Easter Bunny Banner.  I found a bunny template online similar to this one and printed it out onto cardstock paper and cut it out.  I then traced the bunny template onto […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


about me

twenty-something
computer-science major
german

I'd love to hear from you!
bytesizedpieces (at) gmail.com

Recent Posts

Enter your email address to follow me and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7 other followers

time machine

March 2010
M T W T F S S
    Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Grab my button

bytesizedpieces button

oneprettything Someday Crafts Craft Share 2010

Link Parties


